Social Security is a social insurance program that is funded through dedicated payroll taxes called Federal Insurance Contributions Act tax (FICA). ┬áSocial Security pays benefits to older individuals, workers who become disabled, families in which a spouse or parent dies, and disabled children. Social Security’s Old-Age, Survivors, and Disability Insurance (OASDI) program limits the amount of earnings subject to taxation for a given year. The same annual limit also applies when those earnings are used in a benefit computation. This limit generally increases with increases in the national average wage index. The Social Security Administration calls this annual limit the contribution and benefit base, or taxable maximum. For earnings in 2011, this base is $106,800. The Social Security Administration has two programs that provide benefits based on disability, the Social Security Disability Insurance program (title II) and the Supplemental Security Income program (title XVI).

Title II or Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) pays benefits to individuals who are insured (have earned enough points) under the Act, as well as to certain disabled dependents of insured individuals. Title XVI or Supplemental Security Income (SSI) pays benefits to individuals (including children under age 18) who are disabled and have limited income and resources.

For all individuals applying for disability benefits under Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), and for adults applying under Supplemental Security Income (SSI), the definition of disability is the same. The law defines disability as the inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity (SGA) by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment(s) which has/have lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.

Under the Social Security disability insurance program (title II of the Act), there are three basic categories of individuals who can qualify for benefits on the basis of disability:

  • A disabled insured worker under full retirement age (under 65 years of age)
  • An individual disabled since childhood (before age 22) who is a dependent of a parent entitled to title II disability or retirement benefits or was a dependent of a deceased insured parent
  • Disabled widow or widower, age 50-60 if the deceased spouse was insured under Social Security

Under Title XVI, or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), there are two basic categories under which a financially needy person can get payments based on disability:

  • An adult age 18 or over who is disabled
  • Child (under age 18) who is disabled


The Social Security Administration will only pay benefits to those who are unable to work for a year or more because of a physical or mental disability. In order to receive these benefits, you must prove that you are disabled or suffering from a medical impairment(s). Under Social Security regulations, disability is based on your inability to work. You are considered disabled if you cannot perform the work that you performed before, and if you are unable to adjust to other types of work because of your medical condition(s).

There are many medical impairments and conditions for which Social Security Disability and Supplemental Security Income claimants seek benefits:

  • Multiple Sclerosis aka MS
  • Diabetes
  • Neuropathy, including peripheral neuropathy
  • Obesity
  • Kidney Failure
  • Interstitial Cystitis
  • ADHD – Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
  • Anxiety Disorder
  • Autism
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Depression
  • Drug Addiction
  • Mood disorder
  • Organic Mental Disorders (including organic brain syndrome)
  • Panic Attacks
  • PTSD, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Schizophrenia
  • Chronic Pain
  • Musculoskeletal Impairment Disability Claims
  • Degenerative Disc Disease
  • Disorders of the Spine
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Curvature of the Spine
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Lumbar Stenosis, Spinal Arachnoiditis, Herniated Disc
  • Osteoarthritis, arthritis
  • RSD, or reflex sympathetic dystrophy
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Ruptured Disc
  • Mesothelioma (cancer of the mesothelium)
  • Neuropathy, including peripheral neuropathy
  • Seizure Disorder
  • Stroke (CVA, cerebrovascular accident)
  • Traumatic brain injury or TBI
  • Vision Loss
  • Lupus, or Systemic Lupus Erythmatosus
  • Multiple Sclerosis aka MS
  • Heart Failure
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Liver Disease
  • Hepatitis
  • Lyme Disease
  • Lupus, or Systemic Lupus Erythmatosus

We recommend you file your Social Security Disability claim as soon as possible if you suffer from any of the above illnesses and you are unable to work during the next 12 months. The process of applying for Social Security Dissability can be confusing and stressful. At Jalilvand Group, we will help you file your initial application and guide you through the process step-by-step. With years of experience in Social Security disability claims, we will make sure you get the maximum benefit allowed by law.

Contact Us