Disabled Widow Benefit is a disability program for widows and widowers, based on the social security tax paid by her/his deceased spouse. In order to qualify for this benefit, claimant must be between the ages of 50 and 59, and have been married for at least 10 years to the person who was covered under social security at the time of his/her death. Claimant must show that he/she is disabled and his/her disability began within seven years of spouse’s death. The definition of disability is the same as for all other adult claims. Widows or widowers whose deceased spouse worked long enough to be covered by social security qualify for cash benefit at age 60 without regard to whether they are disabled (See Social Security Survivor Benefits).

The Social Security Law provides that to be entitled to a widow’s or widower’s benefit as a disabled widow, widower, or surviving divorced spouse, you must have a medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. The impairment(s) must have been of a level of severity to prevent a person from doing any gainful activity. All physical or mental impairments must be established by medical evidence consisting of signs, symptoms, and laboratory findings, not only by the individual’s statement of symptoms.

Documentation of the existence of impairment must come from medical professionals defined by Social Security regulations as acceptable medical sources. Once the existence of an impairment is established, all the medical and non-medical evidence is considered in assessing impairment severity.

Acceptable medical sources are:

  • licensed physicians
  • licensed or certified psychologists including school psychologists only for purposes of establishing mental retardation, learning disabilities, and borderline intellectual functioning ;
  • licensed optometrists only for purposes of establishing visual disorders (except in the U.S. Virgin Islands where licensed optometrists are acceptable medical sources only for the measurement of visual acuity and visual fields);
  • licensed podiatrists only for purposes of establishing impairments of the foot, or foot and  the ankle, depending on whether the State in which the podiatrist practices permits the practice of podiatry on the foot only, or the foot and the ankle; and
  • Qualified speech-language pathologists only for purposes of establishing speech or language impairments. For this source, “qualified” means that the speech-language pathologist must be licensed by the State education agency in the State in which he or she practices, or holds a Certificate of Clinical Competence from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.

You may be eligible for Disabled Widow Benefit if you suffer from any following medical conditions:

  • Back Disorders Spine
  • Disorders Joint Pain
  • Chronic Headaches
  • Arthritis
  • Osteoporoses
  • Lumbar Stenosis
  • Disc Disease
  • Scoliosis
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Sleep Disorders
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Asthma
  • Visual Impairments
  • Insomnia Blindness
  • Diabetes
  • Mellitus
  • ADHD
  • Lupus
  • Epilepsy
  • Seizure Disorders
  • Sarcoidosis
  • Bipolar Disorder
  • Neoplastic Disorder
  • Carpal Tunnel Syndrome
  • Schizophrenia
  • Mental Retardation
  • HIV and AIDS
  • Multiple Sclerosis or MS
  • Lyme Disease
  • Cancer
  • Stroke
  • Heart Conditions
  • Obesity
  • PTSD
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Speech Impairments
  • Brain Injury
  • Panic Attacks
  • OCD
  • Bone Disorders
  • Organic Mental Disorders
  • Affective Disorders
  • Kidney Disorders
  • Mood Disorders
  • Lyme Disease
  • Liver Disease
  • Personality Disorders
  • Neck Pain

If you are a disabled widow and are no longer able to work due to your disability, we can help you obtain Social Security Disability benefits. Complete our FREE, no-obligation Social Security disability evaluation today.

Contact Us